Vote for the 2014 Diesel Car of the Year

By Paul Riegler on 13 January 2014
  • Share

DCOTY Vote large box 2012Voting for the 2014 Diesel Car of the Year and the 2014 Diesel Car Manufacturer of the Year has begun.  Seven automakers, Audi, BMW, Chevrolet, Jeep, Mercedes-Benz, Porsche, and Volkswagen, currently offer diesel passenger cars and SUVs in the U.S.  The field has almost doubled, with 23 nominees compared to last year’s 12.

To vote, scroll further down on this page.

This year’s stellar field of nominees includes 13 newcomers to the market, including four from Audi, the A6 TDI, the A7 TDI, the A8 L TDI and the Q5 TDI; three from BMW, the 328d Sedan, the 328d Sports Wagon, and the 535d; one each from Chevrolet and Jeep, the Cruze Diesel and the Grand Cherokee ECODiesel; and two from Mercedes-Benz, the E250 BlueTec and GLK250 BlueTec.

They join ten nameplates which were in last year’s balloting, including the Audi Q7 TDI; the BMW X5 xDrive35d (completely new for 2014); the Mercedes-Benz ML350 BlueTec and GL350 BlueTec; the Porsche Cayenne Diesel; and six from Volkswagen, the Beetle TDI and the Beetle Convertible TDI. the Golf TDI, the Jetta Sedan TDI, the Jetta Sportwagen TDI, the Passat TDI, and the Touareg TDI.

The winner of the 2013 Diesel Car of the Year was the Volkswagen Passat TDI, the BMW X5 xDrive35d won in 2012, and the BMW 335d was the 2011 winner.

As always, it’s up to readers of The Diesel Driver to select the winners.  Last year, over 6,100 readers cast their ballots.  This year there are two separate ballots, one for the Diesel Car Manufacturer of the Year and the other for the Diesel Car of the Year.  Simply vote and click on “next” to get to the second ballot.  Click “next” again and your votes will be registered.

Voting starts at noon on January 12 and ends at midnight on March 15, 2013.  The 2014 Diesel Car of the Year and the 2013 Diesel Car Manufacturer of the Year, as well as the runners up, will be announced at the New York International Auto Show in April 2014.