Vote for the 2011 Diesel Car of the Year

By Greg Spira on 1 December 2010
  • Share

Four companies, Audi, BMW, Mercedes-Benz, and Volkswagen, currently offer diesel passenger cars in the U.S.  This year’s stellar field of nominees includes six passenger cars, the Audi A3 TDI, the BMW 335d, the Mercedes-Benz E350 BlueTec, the Volkswagen Golf TDI, the Volkswagen Jetta Sedan TDI, and the Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen TDI, as well as six SUVs, the Audi Q7 TDI, the BMW X5 xDrive35d, the Mercedes-Benz ML350 BlueTec, the Mercedes-Benz R350 BlueTec, the Mercedes-Benz GL350 BlueTec, and the Volkswagen Touareg TDI.

Voting starts at 12:01 a.m. on December 1 and ends at 11:59 p.m. on January 31, 2011.  The 2011 Diesel Car of the Year as well as the two runners up will be announced in late January.

Each year, the Diesel Driver’s readers will select the Diesel Car of the Year and recognize the top three vehicles offered in the U.S.  As jurors, you can vote for any one of the 12 nominees.  Criteria range from fuel economy and greenhouse gas emissions to performance, handling, styling, comfort, and the overall package.

The Diesel Driver is the world’s leading publication geared towards automotive enthusiasts interested in diesel-powered passenger cars. The Diesel Driver offers in-depth road tests and reviews, diesel-oriented travel features, and features that focus on the latest in diesel technology.

Voting has ended.  The 2011 Diesel Car of the Year will be announced shortly.