Place Your Vote for the 2013 Diesel Car of the Year

By Paul Riegler on 3 March 2013
  • Share

2012BMWThere are only two weeks left to vote for your pick for the 2013 Diesel Car of the Year and the 2013 Diesel Car Manufacturer of the Year.  Cars from five automakers are in the running: Audi, BMW, Mercedes-Benz, Porsche, and Volkswagen.

This year’s stellar field of nominees includes eight passenger cars; the Audi A3 TDI, the Mercedes-Benz E350 BlueTec, the Mercedes-Benz S350 BlueTec, the Volkswagen Beetle TDI (including the convertible), the Volkswagen Golf  TDI, the Volkswagen Jetta Sedan TDI, the Volkswagen Jetta Sportwagen TDI, and the Volkswagen Passat TDI, as well as six SUVs, the Audi Q7 TDI, the BMW X5 xDrive35d, the Mercedes-Benz ML350 BlueTec, the Mercedes-Benz GL350 BlueTec, the Porsche Cayenne Diesel, and the Volkswagen Touareg TDI.

Two of these models, namely the Volkswagen Beetle TDI and the Porsche Cayenne Diesel, made their debut in 2012 as 2013 models.

The winner of the 2012 Diesel Car of the Year Award was the BMW X5 xDrive35d and the 2012 Diesel Car Manufacturer of the Year was Volkswagen.  The winner of the Diesel Car Manufacturer of the Year is determined by the Diesel Car of the Year voting, recalculated by manufacturer.

As always, it’s up to readers of The Diesel Driver to select the winners.  Last year, over 6,000 readers cast their ballots.

Voting starts at noon on January 10 and ends at midnight on March 15, 2012.  The 2013 Diesel Car of the Year, as well as the two runners up, will be announced at the New York International Auto Show in late March.